Discovering Kawaii Metal

This is my podcast narrative of my first real discovery of kawaii metal (cute metal music).

Note: The reason that I pause the video and then talk is because the program wouldn’t turn down the music when I spoke.

Also the video version was removed due to copyright.

Funny Anecodote: After an hour of rerecording this due to the dodgy program, I got in my car only to hear BabyMetal’s Karate on Triple J, after months of not hearing it play, seems that the gods of Kawaii metal enjoyed my experience too.

I also noticed, after hearing this song in my car, that I had forgotten that it also has a badass female vocalist, and fairly punk clothing, yet another expectation that I had gotten wrong.

3 comments

  1. Its amazing how similar this representation of metal music is to the mainstream understanding (my own) of metal music. As far as your reaction video goes it appears you were flagged for copyright, maybe try limit the record label’s content or distort it in some way, I look forward to seeing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Digital Asia

Leave a comment