Auto..what?

So i feel like with my posts I’ve been running around like a lost puppy so i decided to get back to the grassroots and think more about autoethnography.

Hoppes quotes Batchelor (1997) who describes my confusion pretty well.

“I am confused. I am confused by the sheer irrationality, ambiguity, and abundance of things coming into being at all. I am confused by having been born into a world from which I will be ejected at death. I am confused as to who or why I am. I am confused by the labyrinth of choices I face. I don’t know what to do.”

Hoppes (2014) also gives a couple of varying definitions of autoethnography.

Hayano (1979) coined the term “autoethnography” to describe ethno- graphic research done on one’s “own people” through an insider’s perspective (p. 99). Reed-Danahay (1997) broadened the definition of autoethnog- raphy to include “autobiographical writing that has ethnographic interest” (p. 2). Autoethnography has been called a “postmodern form of ethnography” (Neville-Jan, 2003, p. 89) and “an autobiographical genre of writing and research that displays multiple layers of consciousness, connecting the personal to the cultural” (Ellis & Bochner, 2000, p.739).

So insider perspective, multiple layers of consciousness and connecting personal to the culture are the parts that stood out for me.

During my digital artefact creation i have come to realise there is a whole side of tumblr and fandom that i have been completely ignorant about. I almost feel ashamed that i have stayed away from this side of the internet because I’m used to the familiar and the comfortable.

Hoppes says, “Autoethnography is a kind of meditation that teaches us to sit comfort- ably with questions that have no answers and to meet ourselves with kind- ness and understanding, even when we are hurting, anxious, or afraid. Au- toethnographers are invited to meet and accept their lives in all of their messiness, joy, and sorrow.”

I intend to use this evaluation to my advantage and while questioning certain aspects of technology and fandoms and childhood and culture, to also allow myself to not know the answer to everything.

Hoppes, S 2014, Autoethnography: Inquiry into identity, New Directions from Higher Education, Wiley Subscription Services,V2014, I166, pp63-71.

 

One comment

  1. I had the same problem when trying to understand the term “Autoethnography”, but after doing some research i can now say i understand. I think that it’s great to see that you have discovered a whole new side to Tumblr and Fandoms, this will help you out so much with your auto ethnography. Just remember to write down what your experience was. These questions might help you out: were you shocked to find all this new information? How does this effect your knowledge of Tumblr? What was your reaction when you found these discoveries?

    Like

Leave a Reply

