Re-Visiting “State of Autoethnography”

lucy ronald

Upon re-examining my first post titled State of Autoethnography, I became aware of many little-minded assumptions that I had made about various elements of the gaming culture in Asia. Even though I made this post only a couple of weeks ago and have no re-visited the documentary, I feel that through reading other people’s blogs and receiving feedback on my own blog, I am more open minded and perhaps have a more respectful attitude towards these people’s careers.

maxresdefault

In my original post, I automatically approached my analysis in a very stereotypical and assumptive way. This is an easy thing to slip into doing when analysing an aspect of another country unfamiliar to your own – you want to compare it to what you know. I wrote, “I found myself trying to compare their dedication to their careers to something that I’m more familiar with, and I…

View original post 419 more words

Leave a Reply

