Experiences of anime and experiences of people

The idea of having to do an auto ethnographic study was quite confronting, at first. It was difficult to wrap my head around the concept, as I have never had to do anything like this before.
Auto ethnography is a form of self-reflection that explores personal experiences and feelings. I have decided to base my auto ethnographic study on my own experiences of anime films. When I was first introduced to this assignment I was quite overwhelmed by the fact that I had to choose a topic I knew nothing about. Although, after I decided on anime and started looking into it, I became aware of the fact that I had seen a lot more of the films than I thought. I wanted to base my auto ethnographic study on this, and my aim was to find out if members of my family had a similar experience to me with anime, or if they had a completely opposing experience.
Auto ethnography creates a different view of a subject to how you would typically study it. I learnt a lot about anime and anime culture through my auto ethnographic study, and my feelings towards anime changed massively from the beginning of my study, to now. The culture of anime makes it so easy to learn about online. There is a large fandom following online on Youtube, Tumblr and many forums on the Internet. It is very easy to become involved in the culture and not have to be in Japan, which is great. As anime is different to the cartoons that I am used to watching, it is good to have a clear understanding of the differences between the two types, which is portrayed in the large culture and following behind Japanese anime.

Leave a Reply

