Gojira (1954)

DIGITAL ASIA

Being introduced to the term “Autoethnography” has opened new doors to the way I understand research and the value that personal experience can withhold over the way culture can be understood. After examining the provided reading and attending each tutorial I have found myself analysing the 1954 film ‘Godzilla’ in an unfamiliar yet interestingly intimate way.  As Ellis (2011) explains “Authethnography is an approach to research and writing that seeks to describe and systematically analyse personal experience in order to understand cultural experience”I saw myself delving into my own encounters that completely related to scenes within ‘Godzilla’ that I would’ve missed before.

My initial thought as we began to watch the 1954 black and white film based on a large fire breathing dragon swamp monster all in Japanese (might I add) has me questioning how the hell i’m going to relate my personal experiences to the cultural understanding of such an old and seemingly irrelevant…

View original post 462 more words

Leave a Reply

