First Hand Look at Godzilla

In my autoethnographic look at Gojira, let’s just say I had an interesting experience in viewing film. I had never seen the film before, let alone any Godzilla movie in the franchise, and to my pleasant surprise, I actually enjoyed it. I do not have a lot of experience with watching foreign films, just a few Studio Ghibli movies which isn’t something that is completely unusual as they are quite popular. The film started out for me, almost a bit humorous, in the way that it is edited, the acting, sound effects, long silences and Godzilla himself which could be a mixture of technologies available during production in 1954, and the different cultural background that I am used to. For me personally, the only television I could related this too was Doctor who in the quirky editing and the sci-fi genre.

The actual motive itself I thought was very well done in a way that contemporary movies in this genre solely focus on special effects but this movie has a strong story line. Love was a theme whether it was family love or romantic, relationships built, then there was a detailed  look at a way of stopping Godzilla through a young scientist Serizawa and his ‘Oxygen Destroyer’. But not only was the story line good, it draws on important themes arising from Hiroshima and Nagasaki and the terror in Japan during the final stages of World War 2 which I did not know about prior to this. I thought I would have known everything about this movie from references to Godzilla in scenes from my childhood such as the television show Rugrats with ‘Reptar’. The film definitely surprised me to the depth and complexity of issues explore and how Godzilla is a Metaphor to the bombings and the terror and destruction caused is exactly what happened during the bombings in which you felt sympathy for the citizens and an emotional engagement.

Image of Hiroshima and Image of Godzilla

(Images sourced from atomcentral.com/hiroshima-nagasaki.aspx  and  godzilla.wikia.com/wiki/File:Gojira_1954_-_4.jpg )

Another important part of the film was the character Emika, she played a very important role as both a protagonist in the film but also her characters role as a head figure that makes decisions and is able to fight for what she believes. She was the person who was trusted enough to be told about the ’Oxygen Destroyer’ and then passed on that useful information. I definitely think with scenes like that, this shows the movie was so advanced and ahead of its time, with women having the opportunity to speak for themselves and have a say which may not have actually been apparent in society. The role of women and the symbolism of was  proves how powerful this movie was. I genuinely enjoyed the film and would be interested to now see how a modern interpretation is presented.

Dana

Leave a Reply

