It’s 2017.. I can be biased and proud.

I’m not a complete stranger to auto ethnography at all. I did society and culture studies throughout my senior High School years. I have also done a few culture classes in uni as well. But mostly from the society and culture (SAC) class, we always got learnt to chuck away everything my English teachers were teaching us. What my SAC teacher wanted was something raw, personal and self-developing. She wanted a piece of writing in which she can see me grow, learn and develop. Writing that including my opinions, thoughts and reactions.

The biggest issue with this is finding a balance. There has to be a close eye looking at when one starts to be too personal, empathetic and therapeutic or possibly when one is much too analytic and critical. To achieve a good and fulfilling auto-ethnography piece, you need to be able to express yourself, show personal opinions and ideas and show empathy and progress while also ensuring you are being critical, analytic and somewhat level headed. This is definitely going to be a bit of a challenge, especially considering I will be writing about something fairly new to me. However i’m sure the outcome will be worth it, and a huge learning experience.

My main goals are to achieve a balance. To try and not be too biased, but to definitely acknowledge when Ive noticed I am, and why this might be the case. To break down and analyse not only the text itself, but my actual reactions to them and my initial thoughts and deconstruct where they came from and why they exist. Let the personal journey begin.

 

References:

http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/160940690800700103

3 comments

  1. Its interesting that you mention finding balance when conducting autoethnographic research. I think that this is important to find, however it is also important not to disregard your own bias even if you consider it to be too strong, rather analyse why you feel that way to help you gain a better understanding. You have an interesting approach, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are lucky that you have had a prior relationship with autoethnography- It will definitely make the next 10 weeks easier for you!
    Autoethnography entails us to tap into our won personal narratives, but where is the line drawn before the ‘research’ just becomes an inner monologue. This excessive focus on ‘self’ in isolation from ‘others’ would defeat the purpose and function of this methodology. As you said in your post, one must be critical of their own personal narratives, not just retell them. I know it’s not awfully fun, but Chang affords an entire chapter to the benefits and limitations of this methodology- it may be useful for future studies, and definitely helped me understand it all a little better from a critical POV.
    Chang, Heewon. (2008). Autoethnography as method. Walnut Creek, CA: Left Coast Press.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is nice that you had a teacher who pushed you to expand your writing boundaries, it easy to get locked into what’s familiar. You make an excellent point, like everything in life autoethnography requires balance. It is the tiptoeing of the line between personal and analytical where the method really works. I look forward to reading a fresh perspective on your texts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

