Introduction: Caitlin

Hi everyone from DIGC330. My name is Caitlin and I am in the middle of my third year of BCM, majoring in journalism and international media and communication. I always have difficulty finding the right words to describe myself, but we will see how it goes. I prefer talking about other people and their stories which is why I am pursuing a career in journalism. I really would like to one day in the not too distant future end up in investigative journalism. Being paid to look into corruption and ‘shady’ characters is my kind of fun.

If you ask any of my friends, they would probably say that I am opinionated and not afraid to speak my mind. That is definitely true. I do like to argue a lot. Besides debating, my interests or ‘hobbies’ (for a lack of a better word) are; movies, music, watching sport, cooking, reading, history and politics. While I was born in Sydney, I moved around a lot as a child because of my dad’s work. When I was about 6, we moved to Queensland and lived there for 3 years, before moving to Perth. After 4 years in Perth we ended up returning to Sydney. In the 13 years of my school education, I attended 5 schools. For some people, that would seem crazy. For me it was normal. So I think that travelling shapes who we are and who we want to be and allows us to experience new things (sorry to sound kind of philosophical).

In terms of the auto-ethnographic assignment, I have not committed a 100% to a topic. However, I am interested in foreign films, particularly appropriation and how Asian cinema is a big source of creative inspiration for US production houses. For example, the Martin Scorsese film the Departed is a remake of a 2002 Hong Kong film Infernal Affairs. So I was considering looking at something like this. Anyone with suggestions on how this could be researched in an Australian context using auto ethnography?

Thanks

One comment

  1. Hello Caitlin, welcome to the subject, thanks for your post. Perhaps combine your interest in journalism and film, looking at documentary, or the production and consumption of citizien journalism. You could think through the autoethnographic approach in terms of potential career options?

    Like

Leave a Reply

