Welcome to the other side

chrissy@uow

In reexamining my previous post on the interpretation of mythology through Asian films, I decided to look at how my prior experience shaped my understanding of the films I initially investigated. Being a fan of mythology, I feel as though my closest reference point is my own experience with western based mythology film and prior learning. Rather than only relying on my prior experience and personal interpretations, I also conducted further research in order to understand the meaning of certain terms, references and the significance of unexplained cultural facets.

Films examined

20713Mononoke

Overview: Mononoke is produced by Toei Animation. It is a spin-off of Ayakashi Bakeneko story arc set in feudal Japan. Mononoke follows a wandering, nameless character known to us only as the “Medicine Seller”. The series is made up of individual chapters, where the medicine seller encounters, combats and subsequently extinguishes Mononoke.

Unlike most other films I…

View original post 716 more words

Leave a Reply

