I Read About Autoethnography And Watched Gojira (1954). Here’s What Happened.

Madeleine Burkitt

We did two cool things in Digital Asia (DIGC330) last week. One of them was learning about autoethnography, a novel form of academic research characterised by an analysis of personal experience. The other was watching Gojira (1954), a Japanese ‘Godzilla’ film.

Autoethnography

autoethnography

Autoethnography makes a whole lot of sense to me. I think I may have actually whispered “YES” aloud as I read Ellis’ text at one point. I aggressively highlighted the document. I took scribble notes that were entirely unhelpful because I wrote them too fast. Celebration of the subjective and personal in the academic space (and seemingly my own nerdiness) has reached its final form and I love it.

Markers of autoethnography include a rejection of “master, universal narratives,” of the objective researcher, of heteronormative-washed recounts, and of a reckless, insensitive approach to research ethics. These are of course all good things, but quite established concepts.

What…

View original post 613 more words

Leave a Reply

