Godzilla Revisited

Here we are, almost 2 weeks later, and I’m only just writing this post. Delayed due dates mean delayed writing, in typical uni student fashion.

I’m quite enjoying the auto ethnographic studies, it’s a nice change to look at cultures and perceptions instead of graphics and advertisement as most of my other classes are. While reading a few of these other blogs, it’s really been interesting to see the differences in reactions between individuals to the texts we’ve looked at, and especially interesting for me to see people respond to the State of Play documentary, as that’s something I’m far more familiar with, and not a lot of things in that were something that were unheard of to me, nor were they unfamiliar, so choosing to do Godzilla was probably a wise move for me.

Looking back at the points I made about Godzilla in the original post, I’ve gone and found some answers to my randomly thought up questions and interesting things I noticed while watching it for the first time.

 

Love Triangle: okay so not actually a lot to explain here, that was more just an observation in general instead of a cultural question mark. Same goes for the woman screaming, I’ve made this re-evaluation kind of challenging for myself by pointing out some general things instead of cultural things but oh well.

The last point I had in mine was about no women being present anywhere near Godzilla, and while that is a testament of the time as I pointed out, it is also very relevant to Japan and many asian countries, where the traditions of females being domestic and males being military, or working men almost still stands to this day. It would be absolutely unheard of for women to have anything to do with the military back in the year that Godzilla was made, which explains that.

As for my main ‘Huh?’ moment in the movie: The sideways map.

Luckily Chris has almost already answered that one for me, in that the sideways map was more or less Japan’s way of ‘un-Westernising’ themselves. The map of the world, as it is, is obviously of Western construction, and while accurate, it does more or less place these ‘Western’ worlds as the center of the earth, with all the other countries, such as those of Asian orientation, in a dimmer light.

The sideways map was a way of reimagining the map from an Eastern perspective, and while it’s still essentially the same map, it’s THEIR map.

Leave a Reply

