Pokemon and I: An ethnographic journey

michellewrites2

During this experience I have sought to use autoethnographic to systematically analyse my personal experience of Pokémon and further my understanding of the Japanese culture. Here my experience of exploring and creating my own Pokémon fan art, in the hopes to explore larger political and social issues encapsulated within this experience.

Over the last few weeks I have explored my engagement with Pokémon, remembering the past and reflecting on how this text has impacted the trajectory of my life, and analysing my experience with the text. In doing so it also created the opportunity to study Japan’s cultural practices and history, “reflecting on common values, beliefs and shared experiences” (Ellis & Adams&  Bochner, 2011, p. 7) in order to help other outsiders better understand aspects of the Japanese culture.

Through my blogs I aimed to make my reflections evocative thus brining the readers into the scene, using emotions and a…

View original post 1,715 more words

Leave a Reply

