WEEK 5: A Summary

michellewrites2

The process of undertaking an autoethnographic study, is something that I can only describe as an outer body experience, a foreign process of personal reflection and cultural exploration. By immersing myself in this controversial research process, I enriched my knowledge of Korean and Japanese culture through the exploration of artist Oh Haji’s art making practises. Moreover this process also allowed me to take a closer look at my own identity and belonging, the process known as ‘self-reflexivity’ (Alsop 2002, p. 2).

In this instance Oh Haji became my personal tour guide of Asian culture and art, her artwork becoming a framework that would guide not only the directions of my research but also became a source of therapeutic personal reflection and personal analysis. Experiencing Oh’s work is very personal and tactile, requiring the viewer to physically be present to fully experience all her work has to offer. Through the technique…

View original post 1,509 more words

Leave a Reply

