/r/Japan

Throughout my journey on this particular sub-reddit, I found an abundance of ‘I’m coming to Japan – What should I see?!’ type posts. Upon seeing and reading the same questions and answers I was beginning to question my study. That was until I stumbled upon three eye opening posts

Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.31.47Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.32.39Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.32.16

My reasoning for choosing these posts as a focal point is because they seem to be a rarity. I mean who thinks about Weed in Japan? Or who isn’t too sidetracked by their excitement for visiting Japan to stop and think about “Hang on, what SHOULDN’T I be doing/seeing/visiting?” And likewise, What was disappointing about Japan? These types of posts were exactly what I was searching for, to uncover the less known facts about Japan and find out what people really think, besides the popular opinions. This is what I really believe is the true use for the representation of Japan on Reddit – To give information for those interested and not just interested in hearing the stock standard opinions.

Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.27.03From reading through ‘what NOT to do in Japan? where NOT to go in Japan?’ I was able to find some things that most would not know. The not talking on trains point really struck me as weird, especially from being on Sydney trains where even the ‘quiet carriage’ still has that guy talking on his phone or that baby who just.Won’t.Stop.Crying.

Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.28.25In addition I have found what seems to be a typical Westernised tradition “The Tokyo Yamanote Halloween Train” Where a bunch of tourists dress up in halloween costumes and get drunk and cause a ruckus on two Japanese Peak Hour Trains. The views on this seem to be incredibly negative and from viewing a few of these videos it’s obvious that the people participating in these train rides are showing no respect for the ‘Quiet Train’ rules or the Japanese people in general.

Something that has never occurred to me is to question the laws regarding Marijuana in foreign countries, besides the obvious – Bali. Well ‘Weed in Japan’ definitely answered that for me. I had always thought that the general consensus was the same as that of Australia, that it’s illegal, but more frowned upon rather than a serious crime. As the picture above shows, that is NOT the case in Japan, the entire post contains people warning against it – although is seems harder drugs are more common with less penalties.Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.52.40

The final post I found to be incredibly interesting was the ‘What has disappointed you? (regarding Japan)’. Which contained useful information about aspects of Japan which weren’t what the author thought they would be.Screenshot 2014-10-07 12.59.59

Things like the medical system being terrible or that toilets are apparently the most technologically Screenshot 2014-10-07 13.05.42advanced part of Japan?

So my transition from the beginning of this sub-reddit to finally finding relevant and unique information was tough at first but in the end I managed to get on a pretty good role and spent about 5 hours on just this sub-reddit (I was in deep guys), but this is exactly what I wanted to get out of it. To see the lesser known side of Japan and how it’s represented in an online community.

Leave a Reply

