Exploring the Premise of Anime Part II

As mentioned in my previous post  my personal digital artefact will be based around the viewing of traditional Anime and my initial thoughts about the cultural differences and similarities of which I pick up. Given the recent rise of popularity of Anime in western cultures on sites such as Tumblr, Reddit and Twitter, I thought this only fitting given I am not very exposed to the subject itself. Using the definition of autoethnography as defined by Ellis (mentioned in previous post) I will begin to undertake an autoethnographic research methodology to pick apart the many cultural barriers or bridges between a western culture of which I have lived and grown up in, and an Asian culture, one I am not exposed to on a regular basis.

As outlined by Chambers, S (2012), there is still a slight negative image toward Anime from western cultures, given the apparent violence that is not often seen in American cultural settings. In response to this, what about debate having be waged at the moment around the accessibility of guns and gun laws. Doesn’t this warrant a negative stigma also? Chambers undertook a study with a convenience pool of 107 university students to understand the scope of influence Japanese anime had on American people born in the 80’s and 90’s and relying upon secondary research. The study found that anime conveys a negative image associated with violence and fringe culture, but people see anime as more of an art form than tasteless violent film (Chambers, S. 2012).

Given a wave of what I like to call “new age anime’ accessible on Netflix, I will use Chambers (2012) research and knowledge when comparing cultural differences between Japanese and western (American) to understand in a practical sense, whether these themes are still present within recent anime art forms.

Chambers also does a literature review on a term known as Fansubbing, the practice of taking the original Japanese anime and translating it word-for-word in fan-made subtitle, a phenomenon that was practiced by 200,000 fans as found by Luis Pérez Gonzáles  in 2006. This again is a practice of cultural merge that I wish to explore when further researching autoethnography when viewing anime.

I wish to present my findings verbally through a podcast, either by a series or a long unedited version, as mentioned in my previous post. I will aim to conduct a completely autoethnographic research methodology scarce from any bias previous views, except those cultural divides and bridges that I have researched based on the Ellis (2011) definition and Chambers finding in her 2012 research.

Feel free to leave any comments or questions regarding my project or anything you think I can improve on.

Resources

Chambers, Nicole Inez. S. 2012. Anime: From Cult Following to Pop Culture Phenomenon, The Elon Journal of Undergraduate Research in Communications • Vol. 3, No. 2. Media Arts & Entertainment – Cinema Elon University. Accessed 16/9/2016 > http://www.elon.edu/docs/e-web/academics/communications/research/vol3no2/08chambersejfall12.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

