Horror – Showing you what you weren’t meant to see

What are we meant to see?… This is a question in horror that continues to interest me. Reality I think is based on continuity and I feel that Japanese horror in particular is good at analysing specific elements that we use to build our perceived reality, and then systematically tests them and asks why do we give these elements the right to build our perception of truth.

The movie Uzumaki or in english, Spiral, tells the story of a town possessed by spirals, yes that’s right, a symbol that has a malevolent intention for a whole town. The spiral is meant to symbolise a vortex whose sole purpose is to consume whoever gets too close. It consumes people in a way an obsession consumes someone, they start to see spirals in everything, in the way that if it’s possible to see a spiral in something they will find it, eventually those that are affected by the spiral curse will find a way for their body to also become a spiral. This often involves mutilating the body or grotesque mutations.

Lovecraftian horror wekipedia defines as ‘a sub-genre of horror fiction that emphasizes the cosmic horror of the unknown (and in some cases, unknowable) over gore or other elements of shock, though these may still be present.[1] It is named after American author H. P. Lovecraft (1890–1937).’

And one of its themes is described as

  • Preoccupation with viscerate texture. The horror features of Lovecraft’s stories tend to involve semi-gelatinous substances, such as slime, as opposed to standard horror elements such as blood, bones, or corpses.

The students in Uzumaki in their pursuit of things that are shaped like a spiral actual begin to turn into snails, which is safe to say pretty disturbing.

I find it interesting that cold and slimy and the body are big aspects for initiating fear, perhaps this is something to with us being mammals and our preference for dry soft warm things, then horror tests this idea through what we like to define as conducive to our rational state. As an example I think about what it would be like to have thousands of slugs all over me, and the idea is positively sickening.

The Spiral movie or Uzumaki was created from a manga series, Wikipedia gives two ways of referring to  manga, one Japanese and one English. Manga in Japanese refers to all cartoons, comics and animation. In English it refers to specifically Japanese comics. An art form that originated in the early 19th century it is highly regarded as an entertaining and an informative staple of Japanese culture.

I continuously get excited thinking about how rich and colourfully documented Japan’s history is, they have so many diverse intersections of human development. The last movie I looked at showed thousand year old samurai battles and was riddled with supernatural experiences, including intervening ghosts that can take body parts. This movie Uzumaki (Spiral) again has supernatural conflicts at its base, however, the general unknown force of a curse I feel is an even more abstract way of developing a horrifying idea, and then specifically using the authority that symbols have to test what we use to structure our beliefs.

Curses particularly are present throughout a lot of the Japanese horror movies I’ve come across. This belief that some unknown evil force outside of being controlled or predicted will determine your future is not something I ever considered as a real possibility. My theory behind this is that because my understanding is built upon scientific results, the fact that it doesn’t involve tangible results for its existence, I then experience difficulty in believe it. Although what I perceive as my reality is constantly being shaped by things that I have not yet learnt how to measure or understand, for example computer technology, so in this way perhaps in order for me to understand the supernatural world I would have to adjust my perception to a gauge that was comfortable with using the tools that are needed for measuring it, that is a deep understanding of how the supernatural world works, and belief that it does exist, one of which I am yet to have any experience with beyond movies, which are somehow able to suspend my belief, so if a movie can manipulate my reality, it stands to reason that unknown supernatural force perhaps could also do this. I don’t know, sounds strange but I think the unknown force of movies and technology could lead me to perhaps wanting to have more of an understanding of the supernatural, I wonder how I would frame my understanding if I believed both in science and the supernatural.

Leave a Reply

