Gojira (1954)

digital asia

Autoethnography is an approach to research and writing that seeks to describe and systematically analyse personal experience in order to understand cultural experience. – Carolyn Ellis, Tony E. Adams & Arthur P. Bochner, 2011

I must say, after NEVER watching an actual film based from the story interpretations of Godzilla (apart from that brief scene in the Austin Powers Goldmember movie), I think I have started to live. It was really interesting to understand the story behind the myth and especially watching it in black and white and in Japanese, which is something I don’t tend to do living in the 21st century with so much access so colour and HD quality television. I can’t say I’ve ever taken it upon myself either to watch a foreign, especially Japanese, film probably because I’m very western (full-bred white girl) and haven’t had much experience with foreign films or even language…

View original post 580 more words

One comment

  1. I find your observations on the quality of the film really interesting, as it was not something I initially had thought about or related to within my own Autoethnograph development. After reading your point on its affect on the interpretation of the quality of film I was able to identify with this. Being a black and white foreign movie it’s hard to fully consider the acting and quality when we – children of the 21st century have been served the luxury of colour and HD quality within film in which themselves can persuade and manipulate our own personal experience. As I mentioned within my own blog post I can definitely relate to the “huge appreciation for tedious work” as I too experience this immensely within my degree. What I can’t agree with you on is your reaction and the pleasure you felt watching this happen. Wait….. nooo…. are you Godzilla yourself???

    Like

Leave a Reply

