What is there to do

Trying to think of a topic for my individual digital artefact was tough. I ended up deciding to do it on the culture of anime. When I first starting reading up on DIGC330 I thought I was way out of my league and I thought I would be at such a disadvantage because of my lack of knowledge of the Asian digital media landscape. Although, when I started to look into the content a bit more thoroughly, I realised that I actually had a lot more knowledge about the Japanese anime side of the media that I knew of.
When I was in high school in year 7 and 8 I studied Japanese as a language. Our teacher was quite obsessed with showing us Japanese films, and we even went to the cinemas to see Howl’s Moving Castle. At the time I really didn’t pay much attention to what I was watching and so I didn’t remember it until I started Googling information about anime. I also realised that a lot of the cartoons I watched when I was younger were also classified as Japanese anime.
Once I realised that I had actually watched a lot more Japanese anime films and TV shows than I had originally thought, I was able to appreciate it a bit more. I became a lot more interested in what I was going to have to research about getting to watch more anime films and episodes.
For my individual digital artefact I might look into using YouTube or SoundCloud to express video or audio. I haven’t chosen which type of media I am going to portray my information on as of yet. I will expand on my own experience of anime and use it to understand other people’s experiences. I have a feeling that a lot of people may have similar experiences to mine, or it could go the complete other way! That is what I plan to find out.

Leave a comment