Hayao Miyazaki

One of the first feature length Japanese films I watched was Spirited Away directed by Hayao Miyazaki. This iconic film of my childhood was perhaps the cornerstone of my subconscious love for the strange and fantastic. This absurdity is most exemplified within Japanese films, therefore Hayao Miyazaki is the most recognisable Japanese film celebrity for me.

Miyazaki (for reasons un acknowledged) is not well represented in the online world. Upon searching his name on Facebook, this page is found. Really all the page consists of is the first few paragraphs from his Wikipedia page, congruently, the top search of ‘Hayao Miyazaki’ on twitter results in a fan made page. This twitter feed is the most interesting of the two sites. This account, obviously, is fan run, the handle ‘@HMiyazaki_News’ and the third person content indicate this. What’s interesting about this twitter feed is the absence of Miyazaki himself, although almost his every move is documented. 

Why would I choose to do a blog on someone who has little social media presence? Hayao Miyazaki lived through and was involved in the golden ages of Japanese Film, and as stated before he is an important foreign film producer for me personally, so it is more of a sentimental choice. Concerning Japanese Film, my interest lies within earlier films, prior to 1990 (I know Spirited Away breaches this date, however this is merely a trigger for my research) so I chose

Through the little public persona developed through digital media (primarily secondary evidence) a picture of humility and kindness is painted.

Hayao Miyazaki is regarded as one of the greatest Japanese Directors of all time, he often collaborated with other well known directors such as Isao Takahata, Toshio Suzuki, and Hiromasa Yonebayashi. 

Hayao Miyazaki really has no personal contribution of digital content on social media sites. Although older people are becoming more likely to use facebook it may be the case that Miyazaki is not utilizing social media due to his age bracket. Due to this disconnection with social media, when researching Japanese Film, secondary evidence must be relied upon.

My artifact will be a hand-full of podcasts relating to Japanese Film. Representing information cannot be visual therefore I will rely of quotes and testimonies in my artefacts.

References

Hayao Miyazaki, Wikipedia.org, Viewed 20th August 2014, <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hayao_Miyazaki

Hayao Miyazaki Facebook, Facebook.com, Viewed 20th August 2014, <https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hayao-Miyazaki/112164162133344# >

Hayao Miyazaki Twitter, Twitter.com, Viewed 20th August 2014, < https://twitter.com/HMiyazaki_news>

Madden, M, 2010, Older Adults and Social Media, Pew Research Internet Project, Viewed 20th August 2014, < http://www.pewinternet.org/2010/08/27/older-adults-and-social-media/>

4 comments

  1. It’s interesting that you would choose Miyazaki despite how commited he is to a non-digital life (I seem to recall his animation styles are all impressively old fashioned and hand made). Not saying it’s a bad choice either, but I wonder if you could have made his ties to the digital world more explicit? For example there are Miyazaki fandoms on Tumblr and in all likelihood he has had cultural influences on other films, TV series or digital media. Finding those ties could be tricky of course, but interesting as well.

    Another suggestion for a more digital focus, Miyazaki’s studio (Studio Ghibli) worked in collaboration with game development studio Level-5 to create two different JRPGs called Ni No Kuni that were released on the PS3 and Nintendo DS (the DS game being a Japan only release). Although Miyazaki wasn’t personally involved as far as I’m aware, the game is certainly oozing with his style and influence (particularly the animation and narrative aspects).

    Like

    1. Hmm, i didn’t give much thought into the Tumblr side, I was more interested in his representation on more text based social media sites (after a quick look then it seems that the tumblr pages dedicated to him are not self run either).

      As to your comment as to whether I should have chosen someone else, i chose Miyazaki for the reason you stated. His lack of digital presence is what interested me. It gives me the early Japanese analog film vibe I am interested in studying.

      As I just mentioned i’m more interested in the older live action stuff rather than strictly animations (although I haven’t completely ruled it out!).

      Thanks for your input! 🙂

      Like

  2. Interesting post! I also love ‘Spirited Away’; it’s positively brilliant.
    I think it’s quite interesting that the fandom have sort of taken over the social media side for Miyazaki, and would be interested to find out what he thinks of that (if he thinks anything of it at all). While I’m not particularly surprised that he doesn’t have much of an online presence, it does make me think about what other celebrities Studio Ghibli has. For example, the character Totoro is certainly a popular, and quite easy to recognise (seriously, I know two people with Totoro onesies).
    Your post prompted me to check out the Miyazaki tag on Tumblr, and I found this photo blog dedicated to him: miyazakiandfriends.tumblr.com/

    Like

  3. I think it is quite interesting that like myself you looked back to your childhood for this weeks post. I find it interesting that he doesn’t have much of an online presence with how popular he is. Like you said his facebook page is basically a couple paragraphs ripped from wikipedia and he no real twitter feed. this is interesting to me because even in the west we have celebrities like Sir Ian Mackellen or as I like to call him Gandalf, has a highly active twitter feed with Patrick Stewart.Also I look forward to your podcast Idea for your artifact, I think it is a unique and interesting way to explore your topic 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

