Godzilla and Autoethnography

Autoethnography, as defined by Ellis et al. (2011) is a combination of autobiography and ethnography, this helps to write about experiences or affects that a person receives from different media in different cultures. My understanding of the word autoethnography is a form of self reflection on personal experiences in order to connect to much bigger understandings, whether it be; cultural, political or social. Autoethnography the concept is relatively new to me, and seems like one of those ridiculous words you throw around to sound much smarter than you are, I will try my best to grasp its full meaning.
I watched Gojira or Godzilla a few weeks ago, the original japanese science fiction film. The film was really awesome, albeit the acting was a little rough and overdramatic at times. It was actually really hard for me to watch this film, because the first godzilla film I had seen was the most recent one with Brian Cranston and Aaron Taylor-Johnson…Soooo I guess I didn’t have high expectations for the original made in 1954. Putting the obvious miniatures of the giant dinosaur-like monster aside, the movie was quite rich, and as Chris had mentioned, there were things that he hadn’t seen or noticed upon watching the film another time. There were some serious and subtle undertones relating to political events such as hiroshima in the film, which I feel weren’t too obvious but still had an appearance, specifically with the mass loss of life. The random love triangle that was thrown in was, I feel, completely unnecessary, and didn’t add to the plot in anyway as there wasn’t really a solid resolution to this little dilemma. One thing I could differentiate from the 1954 to the 2014 movie, apart the amazing cinematics and special effects, was the very apparent Japanese culture that was shown throughout the movie, it helped me realize well yeah I am watching a Japanese film, but it’s more reassuring that there is a Japanese film industry out there, as I don’t really find myself indulging in the Japanese film industry too much, admittedly. Knowing that a lot of the action scenes used miniatures, it was actually super interesting to see how well they managed to execute these scenes. I feel if I hadn’t had the knowledge prior to watching the film, I would’ve thought some terrible primitive 3d animation took place.

Leave a Reply

