Understanding PONPONPON: Unpacking my experience with Kyary Pamyu Pamyu.

Another blog in the machine.

For my first dabble into autoethnographic research I looked the the music video from Kyary Pamyu Pamyu called PONPONPON. In my first post I was generalising about my initial viewing on the clip, but now after digging a bit deeper into the culture I can see that perhaps I have left out some integral parts of the culture that have culminated to result in the PONPONPON video.

Of course, this clip is entirely different to what I am used to experiencing from the Western music industry which focuses on hard sexualisation of women. Instead what I noticed in the video that even though the singers were feminine they weren’t sexualised and even presented a somewhat grotesque femininity (Oi 2014).

One line from my research that really resonated with me is what Kyary’s producer Yasutaka Nakata said about J-Pop culture, which was that music like Japanese Pop acts as…

View original post 415 more words

Leave a Reply

