Godzilla Reflection

Social Media Talk

In my last blog post, I talked about my thoughts after watching Godzilla for the first time. Not surprisingly, my initial reaction towards Godzilla was that I found it boring and lost interest in the film quite quickly. But the one thing that has stuck in my mind since watching it, is the gender divide. As I mentioned in my previous blog post, Emiko Yamane was portrayed as a woman who could only function with the help of her boyfriend and father. She was depicted as weak and shy was no help towards defeating Godzilla, she would cry and scream when things got too overwhelming. Not only is it Godzilla that features many old fashioned gender roles but many well known movie’s such as Grease, My Fair Lady, Swiss Family Robinson and many of Disney’s most loved Princesses are portrayed as women who can only be happy if they fall in…

View original post 255 more words

Leave a Reply

