WEEK 5: Progress through the digital world of shopping

Tumblr-logo1

Tumblr. Tumblr is a micro-blogging, social networking platform on which individuals can post various multimedia under a title which is linked to their name. It is actively used by 197.3 million people as of the 1st August 2014, according to the ‘about us’ section on Tumblr.(1) It was bought by Yahoo! on the 20th of June 2013 and the founder of Tumblr, David Karp remains the CEO till this day.

Tumblr is mainly compiled of images. These range drastically in their content and are also often ‘re-blogged’ by individuals who want it to appear of their page. The site has found that as of 1st August 2014, an average of 95 million posts were blogged per day. (2) This was a leading reason for my choice to use Tumblr as my digital artefact. Other reasons include the fact that I have never used this platform before, so it will be a great opportunity to get to know the site. Also, throughout my research of this topic, I found that Tumblr is a very popular media platform for fashion bloggers.

From here, I will be searching through some well-known and popular fashion blogs and also seeking smaller, local blogs and making comparisons between them. I will look at what aspects of these blogs make them popular and whether it has to do with the items that the individuals are wearing. This will make up the content analysis sector of my auto-ethnographic study. With this information, I will attempt to take the results which I have found and make my own fashion blog, through Tumblr. I will note down details such as the number of times my images are re-blogged, views and which posts gain the most attention and why.

I will also take a look into online spending habits across different brands and whether individuals purchase luxury items online or offline. Luckily, I am capable of obtaining information on Jimmy Choo and Michael Kors purchases throughout Australia and numerous different countries in Asia. I am also able to see how much of this shopping is done online. This information will broaden my knowledge of luxury item expenditure.

I also plan to speak to a friend of mine who was born in China about her opinion on spending and luxury items. It will be interesting to have a personal view on the topic as she will have some inside knowledge or opinion.

 

 

Bibliography

  1. Tumblr “About Us”. Tumblr. Retrieved August 1, 2014.
  2. “Press Information”. Tumblr. Retrieved August 1, 2014
  3. Unknown Author, 2014,  “About Tumblr” in Wikipedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tumblr accessed on 30th August 2014

Tumblr Image: Creative Commons-Share Alike License, “Tumblr logo,” found on Google Images used on 30th August 2014

 

3 comments

  1. Tumblr sounds like a really great way to represent your issue, particularly considering that tumblr is mainly visual with the occasional short and succinct text post. I think you finding out why people are reblogging things will be a bit of a challenge. I have a tumblr and sometimes a picture will come up and it could be simple or even of bad quality and it inexplicably gains hundreds of thousands of notes.
    I’m really excited to hear about your friends experience, that sounds like in will be really interesting!

    Like

  2. I think creating your own Tumblr blog is definitely the way to go in really experiencing the platform in an autoethnographic way as you will get first hand experience of how it’s used. Finding out the why may be a challenge though unless you actually ask users, which you could potentially do and I have often seen Tumblr users participate in surveys etc. if they are related to something their interested in. Also I think it would be really cool if you could do an interview with your friend and put it on your blog.

    Like

  3. This is actually a very original idea, while I am not interested in luxury brands very much I do find it intriguing how many East Asian girls I see with a Michael Kors bag. From my experience with Asian countries there was also a very large imitation culture and fake brand name bags everywhere except for the high end areas. This probably doesn’t apply to a lot of countries but it might be worth looking at in comparison to the luxury brand culture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

