Cultural Interference

After watching State of Play, and recounting my initial findings and thoughts as field notes, I had some time to do some further thinking and research to understand my findings. I first noticed some large cultural differences between our eSporting community, and their eSporting community.

I researched into how these eSport players would carry around their own keyboards. I watched as many interviews and documentaries about famous athletes and sports players, and noticed how many of them would bring and wear their ‘lucky boots’, or would do some sort of routine out of superstition that would give them luck. So the idea that eSport players would carry around their keyboards to every event is pretty normal!

I then looked into the cultural understanding of eSports and how to get into them professionally. I found that a lot of the South Korean communities see eSports as either a huge business and opportunity…

View original post 278 more words

Leave a Reply

