An Exploration of Football Hooliganism In Asia Part 1

Media, Marketing and Sport

Ever since I can remember, football hooliganism has always captured my eye. I’m not sure what it is but I love it. Perhaps its the element of danger added to the sport I love, or perhaps its its the pure and violent demonstration of absolute passion  that I admire. Although my attention has been purely focused on the European and comparatively smaller Australian forms of this behavior. Hence the DIG330 Autoethnographic task has provided me a push into a research topic of both unfamiliarity and excitement.

Football hooliganism refers to unruly, violent, and destructive behavior by overzealous supporters of association football clubs, including brawling, vandalism and intimidation (The Independent). But in Europe, hooliganism is a culture (organised and planned clashes and aggression), rather than spontaneous violence in reaction to an event. So this in essence is what I am going to set out to explore, does football hooliganism exist in…

View original post 493 more words

Leave a Reply

