“What the Hell Does Kuromukuro Mean?”- Dubs vs Subs Part 2

JesseMaxBlog

Two weeks ago I provided an auto ethnographic account the Netflix original series, Kuromukuro as well as introducing my auto-ethnographic methodology in recording my live responses via Twitter. If you missed either of these links are provided:

Here: https://jessemaxblog.wordpress.com/2016/09/04/dubs-vs-subs-an-introduction/

And Here: https://storify.com/jessemaxmuir/kuromukuro

Now as much fun as this was, recording my reactions only became half of the exercise. In order to fully comprehend Kuromukuro as a Japanese cultural text, I needed to dig further and research beyond my own cultural understanding. Moreover, I needed to understand why I came to these conclusions, and unpack my own observations to determine how I actually met them.

One of the largest themes I found when reviewing my initial observations was in regards to access as seen through the tweets below:

View original post 1,375 more words

Leave a Reply

