My dislike of gaming

For my second blog I honestly was a bit confused on how I was supposed to evaluate the early assumptions I made about the film State of Play, like not heaps has changed in terms of my shock, confusion and intrigue about the film. However for the sake of the blog I tried to be more critical of my first reaction. I’m still trying to understand this whole autoethnographer approach to viewing another culture through a film. For most of my degree and even dating back to school I remember was being told to not write my opinion but instead analyse something from an unbiased view. We were taught to not state how a book or film made us feel but instead write what the director or author was causing us to feel through techniques. Now suddenly I’m being told that in order to research an Asian culture I need to analyse my reaction to a film about South Korean gamers. It all feels a bit odd to me, if Im being honest with you all.

In Ellis’ reading I learned that an autoethnogrpaher recognises the ways that personal experience influences the research process. The method for autoethnogrpahy combines autobiography and ethnography where the author/person retroactively and selectively writes about previous experiences. He states “When researchers do autoethnography, they retrospectively and selectively write about epiphanies that stem from, or are made possible by, being part of a culture and/or by possessing a particular cultural identity. However, in addition to telling about experiences, autoethnographers often are required by social science publishing conventions to analyze these experiences.”

The epiphanies that I had while watching the film and also documented in my first blog included me linking my own personal experience with gaming to the professionals in the film. I was never at all a gamer, and don’t ever plan on becoming one, I don’t think I’m above it or anything I just honestly see it as a waste of complete time. I’m a busy 21 year old and throwing gaming into my life would make it all the crazier. I believe it is because of my lack of care for gaming that I critically analysed the film and also had particularly fascinating experiences while watching the film as I constantly was thinking “how can people get paid to do this.” Like I understand people being paid to actually perform a talent, but personally I did not understand how gaming is a talent? Then again all professions are simply those that are the best at something that not everyone else can do.

My first reaction and blog came from a place where gaming to me was something that only teenagers do, as well as people that clearly have nothing better to do. The documentary did in one point help further my thoughts about this when people began to retire at such a young age, it was like they learnt and trained to be these awesome gamers so that they could retire at the age of 25 because someone younger and better came along. I could easily relate this to professional sport and how often people retire at such young ages because the next “hot shot” came along to take their place. Overall I feel like my initial reaction was pretty negative and that stems from my past feeling or experiences tied to the idea of gaming.

2 comments

  1. I can see where you’re coming from mate. I have mates who dont play games at all and think the way you do and theyre top blokes. Honestly , gaming isnt for everyone. It is a waste of time if you think about it in terms of productivity but as they say time well spent and having fun aint wasted time.

    Dude e-sports is a huge industry. I just did a post on e-sports in Turkey in my background country and those blokes over there were all for physical sports. I mean they were still under the impression that you were an antisocial fag if you play games last time i went. People dont have to live properly let alone game. But the industry has picked up massively and I think that e-sports will be the future or a big a part in it.
    E-sports racks in massive audiences as well as the financial incentives it puts on the table but i gotta agree with you ” how do people get played to play a game ” i mean whats the end game . Ok you’re good at Starcraft , how have you contributed to society or done something productive with yourself. In terms of being a professional gamer , do you get a super, aged pension when you’re older .
    You dont essentially build a skill that will help you survive.

    Its only going to get bigger man.

    Like

  2. I know this post is a bit old but hey, what’s the point of them existing anyway if they’re not going to draw further attention right?

    Most people are ‘busy’, and it’s not unimaginable to think that 21 isn’t the busiest period of your life either. The average age of the modern gamer is 30-odd, and to most people’s fascination the majority aren’t unemployed neck-beards either. The assumption that any medium is less worthy of someone’s time than another is one that just frustrates me, even when it’s not gaming. It just shows that the individual in question simply hasn’t been exposed to said medium in a manner engaging for them. And, as with any medium, different genre’s are key to hooking people in.

    Not having a go at you at all, just think that having an open mind going forward can only result in interesting experiences!

    Like

Leave a Reply

