Comprehending autoethnography through playing dress up

krisesandchrosses

Having meaningful experiences in life relate to your physical, mental, social and political contexts. Your past actions and decisions influence how you will take on changes, challenges and new experiences in the future.

This is what we describe as an auto-ethnographic relationship between one’s self and texts according to Carolyn Ellis, Tony E. Adams and Arthur P. Bochner. This paradigm of research and writing seeks to comprehensively construe and analyse social, political and cultural impacts in relation to an individual’s experience. The main purpose of this form of research/writing is to identify personal biases and prejudices and relate them to the understanding of a new culture. This may be through the route of text, technology, industry, subcultures, digital media platforms or even practice. It is through these avenues of research that epiphanies are born, creating a new direction of critical thinking or research for an individual. This methodology creates…

View original post 483 more words

3 comments

  1. Hey, you frequently referred to the text by Ellis, Adams and Bochner and seem to know about Autoethnography in depth. You also seem to know everything you’re going to research and the questions you’re going to ask while doing your own auto ethnographic research (love the topic by the way). I wish you had a few more examples in this blog; e.g. you mentioned you want to see how your Mediterranean background will influence your critical thinking… how do you think it might influence it now before you actually start?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it will be interesting to see how I am influenced by my heritage. From Greek functions I have learned to be rambunctious and enthusiastic so I don’t think I will have too much trouble dressing up. It will be playing the role in public and the publics perception of me that gives me anxiety. This is most likely due to my white anglo-Saxon upbringing in the shire as a ‘wog’ and my need to assimilate and blend in. I’m not a very confident person, I don’t like to stand out, so I will be challenging myself and hoping I get good results!

      In terms of my critical thinking, I couldn’t tell you. I’ve already been exposed to cosplay and I can’t remember what I thought at the time. However, recent experiences would suggest that I would think that it’s extremely weird and reject it. Then I would become more comfortable with it and eventually fall in love with it. Being Mediterranean most likely gave me some adaptability in circumstances and my upbringing gave me the accepting nature that I use today.

      Thanks for your comment, don’t know if I answered your question 😂

      ~krisesandchrosses~

      Like

  2. Integrating your understanding of autoethnography and your epiphany of your personal experience with cosplay made for an interesting and insightful read.
    I believe the epiphany aspect of autoethnographic research is integral because, without them, readers may question why the researcher wrote about a culture from a particular angle. In saying this, the inclusion of your nationality in this piece made it easier for me to understand how you may perceive Japanese culture as well as the tropes and stereotypes that stem from it.
    Your sensitive approach to ‘Comprehending a unique and new culture…’ displays your awareness and knowledge of the differences between cultures and how these differences may not always be understood. It also displays your awareness of how autoethnographic research should be conducted; from a subjective standpoint, so to reflect and emphasis the authors experience of acculturation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

