Autoethnography

From the start of Digc330 I have found the term Autoethnography hard to grasp. Although it is simply a reflection and explanation of your understanding and experience, I have been finding it hard to reflect on my experience without comparing it to the western world too much. After reading “Autoethnography: an overview” my understanding became much clearer and now I recognise how to write an autoethnography.

When starting my research I wasn’t completely new to the idea of K-pop, as I would watch Pop Asia on SBS occasionally. I feel as though this impacted me being able to express my experience as I wasn’t starting fresh, due to my prior knowledge on the topic. Although in saying this after doing some more research and really identifying the key components that make up K-pop, my understanding has completely flipped. As my opinions and understanding of K-pop changed I feel as though I have just recited articles and literature around my topic, rather then express what my thoughts were on this discovery and whether or not I agree with what is being written. I do try and reflect at the end of each post, but after becoming more aware of what an autoethnography was I will be reflecting throughout my blog posts.

“Autoethnography: an overview” changed my understanding of my aim for my project which is to almost make readers feel as though they are experiencing this with me, sharing ideas and epiphanies that I have had during my research. I now understand to achieve this I must compare and contrast my experience with previous literature on the same topic. (Ellis, Adams and Bochner, 2011) This will help me emphasise what I am trying to communicate and will allow my research to become more sufficient. It will allow me to check whether or not my ideas and concepts around K-pop are relevant. I feel that knowing this I can now reflect stronger and my blog posts may become easier to understand and will feel more personal.

In my next posts you will see me reflecting on my overall experience more by sharing my opinions, feelings, thoughts and observations I have made during my research.

 

Bibliography

Ellis, C., Adams, T. and Bochner, A. (2011). Autoethnography: an overview. Historical Social Research/Historische Sozialforschung, pp.273–290

One comment

  1. People beginning to realise what autoethnography is actually about seems to be a pretty common theme running in the DIGC330 posts lately (mine included). I found that taking a look at other peoples own definitions and articles they have linked regarding autoethnography were really helpful to me in developing my understanding. It was interesting that you said ‘…will allow me to check whether or not my ideas and concepts around K-pop are relevant’ because, from my understanding, your ideas and conception of K-Pop don’t have to be ‘relevant’ as such, in terms of autoethnography, they just have to be your ideas. According to Bochner and Ellis (2006), an autoethnographic researcher is first and foremost a communicator and a storyteller. You don’t have to be communicating or agreeing with someone else’s ideas for your research to be ‘correct’. Autoethnography is very much about expressing your personal thoughts, feelings and observation. So instead of ‘checking to see if your ideas/concepts around K-Pop are relevant’, maybe it could be an interesting angle to compare and contrast how your ideas about K-Pop are very different to others, and why this may be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

