Week 8: Reporting on my creation journey

michellewrites2

Recently I have been reigniting my love of Pokémon, reengaging with the text in different forms, from watching the show via streaming episodes online, playing the game on my GBA emulator and creating original fan art. Over the last few weeks I have been making origami Pikachu’s and surfboards, painting backgrounds and making paper craft props, all working towards my final goal of shooting a paper remake of Pokémon Yellow’s intro.

CPqMfcrUkAAs2ixCPqMU9WUsAAi74LCQEjveOUkAI0xLk

During this process I have participated in several levels of Fiske’s tripartite model, shifting from the ‘simple fan’, to ‘enthusiast’ to ‘maker’, but never quite taking the leap to ‘connector’ and ‘leader’. I must admit that I have felt more connected to the franchise during the ‘making’ stages where I created fan art, here not only was I contributing to the community. Here I was participating instead of just passively consuming the text, I was adding to my experience…

View original post 412 more words

Leave a Reply

