Auto-ethnographical research…

VanStyvendale_400

A quick recap into what is auto ethnography before I get carried away into researching into Asian Social media. Auto ethnography according to Ellis is “an approach to research and writing that seeks to describe and systematically analyze personal experience in order to understand cultural experience” (Ellis, Adams 2006) it is a way for you to personally understand and understand an unknown culture.

During the beginning of this subject I was very confused by the term “auto ethnography”. I was thinking to myself ‘what have I got myself into’ every assignment uses this word and I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IT MEANS. Instead of using this blog at the beginning I’ve chosen to do it at the end when I had a clearer understanding of the concept of ‘auto-ethnography’

During the beginning of this subject I was very confused by the term “auto ethnography”. I was thinking to myself ‘what have I got myself into’ every assignment uses this word and I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IT MEANS. Instead of using this blog at the beginning I’ve chosen to do it at the end when I had a clearer understanding of the concept of ‘auto-ethnography’.autoethno

After reading “Auto ethnography: an overview” it laid out this unknown term to me so clearly. I began to think as I was subjecting myself to new content to think about how it made me feel, what I experienced while engaging in something foreign to me, my reactions my emotions – frustrations, confusions; everything. This reading was key to unlocking the magic that is auto ethnography. I tried to think of it as another way of reflection. A form of reflection that will inform someone who is also unaware of the topic to have a better understanding – or at least less of shock.

After eventually grasping my head around this unknown term this assignment become a lot easier. It is merely a different way of thinking – I mean we all have these thoughts when subject to new media but usually we don’t pay attention to them, or even remember them clear enough to be able to explain them. Auto ethnography allows us to dig deeper with personalised analysis of media/mediums.

References:

Ellis, C., Adams, T. and Bochner, A. (2011). Autoethnography: an overview. Historical Social Research/Historische Sozialforschung, pp.273–290

Leave a Reply

