Individual Autoethnography Methodology (cool title)

For my individual digital artifact, I will be performing a sort of autoethnographic through the form of a lets play. I will be playing any Japanese video game I think will be noteworthy or that I just like. As an already well-established video-game-tragic, I’m pretty well-versed in most genres of video games (is that too many hyphens?) So to help me, I’m going to ask myself a question to answer about the video game that will help me to explain my thoughts on the game while providing a more in-depth analyses of the game itself. I don’t know if this makes any sense, so I’ve already made a video to show my concept. For this video, I played Shadow of the Colossus and tried to answer the question “Is Shadow of the Colossus an RPG?”

To answer this question, I explored to what extent I actually felt I was role-playing. This allows me to give a deep analysis of the game’s intended effect, mechanics or themes through my own personal experiences. While discussing these issues, I’ll also be playing the games to give the audience an better idea of what the game is actually like.

I will base the different questions for each game based on some of the questions from Sheridan’s introduction to autoethnography. For example, I will be gauging how I feel while playing the horror game Silent Hill. But to further explore the survival-horror genre, I will also attempt to answer the question “Is Silent Hill scary?”

I’m hoping this series of videos will provide for both entertaining and informative media that will help audienecs to further analyse their own experiences with video games as an artistic medium.

Sheridan, R , “Autoethnography: Research as Participant”, accessed 11th Sept 2014, http://ricksheridan.netmar.com/auto

5 comments

  1. I love a good Let’s Play video. Shadow of the Colossus is a truely remarkable game in terms of video game story telling. I feel like the “respect for life and nature” theme running throughout the game is a lot like the themes present in games like Pokemon, where the designer’s upbringing in a rural setting where bug catching was common helped shape the pro-nature, animals-as-equals nature of the game http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2040095,00.html
    I know that this valuing animals as equal to humans thing is runs pretty deep in Japanese culture; Matt and I ran into this belief whilst doing our own Tamagotchi studies.

    Like

  2. Very nice video and very interesting. I never play Shadow of the Colossus before but its look like a great game. As i never play it before I don’t really know whether i should call it RPG or not, but if I just watch the gameplay, I would call it RPG. However, if we look more deeply into it, see the plot and character development it might not be a RPG. In my opinion, it is a RPG game because you are playing as a character and control that character(role play). I think RPG is just that a player assume a role of a character in certain setting but Shadow of the Colossus might possibly is not a RPG. I will have to play it before I decided.

    Like

  3. Cool, I really love what you’re doing. It’s actually so interesting how the whole experience of roleplaying which some games allow just adds so much more to the games, it’s something just so unique. Like with films, shows and books you’re just a passive product, where in video games you directly influence and interact with the world, and I think it’s fabulous how there’s so much more games coming out now that allow players to have a more important role in influencing both the plot and the world. Would be interesting to look at the roots of Roleplaying games, perhaps you could play one of the dragon quest games which were responsible for the massive boom in the RPG industry in Japan 🙂 I’m sure you could find an emulator on the net to play one of the earlier titles, and seeing how much gaming now has changed, or perhaps, at its roots, stayed the same 🙂

    Also this is interesting just for Dragon Quest sake: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvCVAp2jE1E

    Like

  4. I like your idea for your autoethnography quite a lot, as it allows so much potential for reflection in regard to video game genres, and reflection is key in this assessment. I will be interested to see which other questions you explore and how you do so. I particularly like the idea you have set out for Silent Hill next week about whether or not it is scary, as it is such a broad idea that can really be led anywhere and discussed in various cultural contexts.

    Like

  5. I like that you are making a series of video, I think that it will be very inviting and informative for an individual to watch and understand an unknown subject or subject matter. I think that it will be an interesting way for you to not only express your own feelings about the game but give a somewhat game recount as well. This will be insightful for a person looking to play the game and having no idea what it’s all about. I like the idea of basing the questions from the Autoethnography introduction. I think this is a good starting point – having easy simple to understand questions and answers will ensure that the audience knows what you are talking about. Having a video is definitely more entertaining and captivating than writing I think it will have the ability to catch a lot of attention. Awesome idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

