Hi!

I’m Kaitlyn and I’m a fourth year Communication and Media Studies/International Studies student. In BCMS I’m majoring in International Communications and in BIntlSt minoring in Peace and Security studies and French. I recently finished a year exchange at Concordia University in Montreal (you’ll see why this is relevant later on). I choose this subject out of intrigue and for my International Communication major.

In the past few years I’ve had a growing interest in anime, which isn’t that unusual but how it started could be consider so. The reason I started watching anime was because a blog I followed on Tumblr was a huge anime fan and was constantly posting gifs and images of various anime. Eventually it got to a point and I decided I needed to watch it to understand what this blog was posting about.

My love and appreciation for anime grew in the past year during my travels because I found watching it and reading subtitles on the many many flights, buses and trains I went on much more comfortable than having to wear headphones constantly. I also found that from having to read subtitles I have to pay a lot more attention to what I’m watching than passively watching a show, which I really enjoy.

Ouran High School Host Club

Ouran High School Host Club – a parody of otaku (obsessive anime and manga fandoms) culture

I’m not really sure where I want to go with this topic but I have a particular interest in the fan culture and influence of the Internet on various anime shows as well as the representation of fan culture in anime. At least I have a little bit of time before I need to narrow what I want my autoethnographic study to be.

Leave a Reply

