Introducing Me.

Talking about myself has never been the easiest thing to do. Of course being able to write about myself is better because I can sit at my laptop for twenty minutes thinking about what to say and not get weird looks (hopefully).

My name is Gabrielle Lester; but all of you wonderful people can call me Gabi. I am a 20 year old fangirl with an overactive imagination and a serious chocolate dependency, whose main goal in life is to publish a bestselling novel (or series; but I suppose I’m cool with just the one too).

I love reading (and writing, obviously) and will read just about anything if I think it looks interesting. I am currently wading through ‘The Two Towers’ and am dreading having to read about Sam and Frodo walking for nearly 200 pages. I’m also re-watching the History channel’s ‘Vikings’ with my mum and beginning the anime inspired cartoon ‘Thundercats’ (2011). And I’m not at all embarrassed to admit that I spent a rather large amount of my winter break stealing things and killing dragons in Skyrim.

But honestly, I’m not that into anything that is distinctively ‘Asian’ (whatever that means). When trying to think of a topic to research I have come up pretty blank. I can only think of Asian inspired TV shows such as the American creation ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’, and the 2011 American remake of the 1980 Japanese series ‘Thundercats’. And also the couple of Studio Ghibli movies I’ve seen (and loved), such as ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ and ‘Spirited Away’. But other than those few things I fear I am horrendously uneducated and have no idea how to kick start my research project.

I think that is enough babbling from me, but if anyone has any ideas that would help me out, I would love to hear from you!

– Gabi

One comment

  1. Thanks Gabi, and welcome to the subject. A good place to start thinking about your research project is to pick a media or communication technology, product or service that can be considered in some way as ‘Asian’ and then account for how you come to define that very problematic term. Think about the role of your own culture in the consumption and participation as a Western RPG fan, perhaps start exploring JPRGs or other non-Western style games.

    Like

Leave a Reply

